Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Red Sox Awards History: All Star Game MVP

I figured this was appropriate today.  The MVP Award for the All Star Game has been given out since 1962.  Boston Red Sox players have won the award four times.

Yaz typically performed quite well on the national stage.  He had great success in pennant drives, and played extremely well during his two trips to the World Series.  He was also quite good in All Star competition and won the MVP of the 1970 game in Cincinnati.  Yaz was elected to start the game and picked up four hits, including three singles, both of which were records.  The AL lost the game 5-4, but Yaz's record-setting performance was enough to win.

The Rocket was in the middle of his breakout season in 1986, the year he won the Cy Young and the MVP while helping lead the team to the World Series.  The 1986 game was played in Houston and Clemens started the game.  He pitched three innings, without giving up a hit or a walk and struck out two while being credited with the win in the 3-2 game.

The next time a Red Sox pitcher started the game, he also won the MVP award.  Pedro Martinez was in the midst of his absolutely dominant season in which he won the pitcher's Triple Crown.  The 1999 game was played in Boston and Martinez wowed the hometown crowd by blowing away five of the six batters he faced.  The only other hitter he faced walked and was erased on the basepaths by Ivan Rodriguez.  

2008 - J.D. DREW
In what has to qualify as one of the most unexpected awards, J.D. Drew took home the 2008 MVP Award in the new Yankee Stadium.  Drew was only an All Star once in his career, and was a reserve who entered the game in the 6th inning.  Drew tied the game with a two-run home run in the seventh inning.  He also added a single, stolen base, and a walk in the game.  

No comments:

Post a Comment