Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Red Sox Award History: 2018 Gold Glove Winners

This one snuck up on me.  I had no idea they were announcing the Gold Glove Awards this early.  Oh well.  Boston had five finalists, including their entire outfield trio of Mookie Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Andrew Benintendi.  Mitch Moreland and Ian Kinsler rounded out the finalists. 

The Red Sox winners were:

Kinsler was acquired at the trading deadline mostly so that the team did not have to keep relying on Eduardo Nunez at second base.  This is Kinsler's second Gold Glove Award as he has mostly been overshadowed by Dustin Pedroia and Robinson Cano during his career.  Kinsler joins Doug Griffin and Pedroia as Red Sox second-basemen to win the Gold Glove

Betts is one of the best defensive outfielders in the game and he now has three Gold Glove Awards to his name.  Other Red Sox right-fielders to win the Gold Glove Award are Dwight Evans (eight times), Jackie Jensen and Shane Victorino.

It seems like it has been a long time coming.  JBJ has long been thought of as a terrific defensive center fielder, and yet, this is his first Gold Glove Award.  He makes amazing catches on a routine basis and has a cannon for an arm.  There is a reason the team sticks with him in the lineup.  He joins Ellis Burks, Jacoby Ellsbury, Fred Lynn (four times), Jimmy Piersall and Reggie Smith as Red Sox center fielders to win the award. 

Silver Sluggers, and the major awards will be coming up soon.  There should be at least a couple more winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment