Tuesday, November 1, 2011

2011 Rawling's Gold Glove Awards

American League:
C - Matt Wieters, Orioles
1B - Adrian Gonzalez, Red Sox
2B - Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox
SS - Erick Aybar, Angels
3B - Adrian Beltre, Rangers
RF - Nick Markakis, Orioles
CF - Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox
LF - Alex Gordon, Royals
P - Mark Buerhle, White Sox

National League
C - Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B - Joey Votto, Reds
2B - Brandon Phillips, Reds
SS - Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
3B - Placido Polanco, Phillies
RF - Andre Ethier, Dodgers
CF - Matt Kemp, Dodgers
LF - Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks
P - Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

So, as I predicted, three Red Sox won a Gold Glove, and all three arguably deserved it. Pedroia also won the Fielding Bible award for his position this year. So, it was a good year for this award for the Red Sox. It is the first time three Red Sox won the award in the same year since 1979 when Dwight Evans, Fred Lynn, and Rick Burleson all won it.

No comments:

Post a Comment